It’s a cycle 2 days in a row kinda weekend 3rd & 4th September 2016

Wow what a weekend. Just sat here now, my brain completely wired, full on awake. Yet earlier today I looked like I had not slept for days. Completely and utterly exhausted.

So who thinks this cycling malarkey is easy?!? Well, I shall let you into a little secret….come closer, I don’t want anyone else to hear…. “it’s not.” Didn’t hear me? “It’s not!!” Yet it is most certainly the best thing I have ever committed to.

So as you all know, yes I will bleat on again, having type 1 diabetes makes exercise sooooooo much harder. Just when I think I have figured out how to keep my blood glucose levels (BG) fairly stable before, during and after a bike ride, my body decides to chuck in a curve ball. This has not stopped me though. Actually it has made me a more confident and determined little soul. I blaaadddyyy love cycling!

O.K back to this weekend. Two days cycling quite a large distance for me.

Saturday consisted of crazy Donkey’s and horses chasing me. I soon realised they were after my banana and not actually trying to eat me (even though Amanda was sure we were Donkey dessert!)

Of course we reached the crazy beast of a hill. Like literally this is a struggle to walk up, I stomp up on my tippy toes whilst Amanda just keeps cycling. That lady is totally determined. I just look at this 25% incline and get off immediately. Total respect to you Mrs Pamplemousse. Although you really do need to work on staying on your bike and quit toppling over, you really will damage those parts you keep telling me about.

Then there was the near slide under the lorries wheel experience. No exaggeration! I have never been so scared in my life, well not that I remember. Just as we were enjoying the downhill country road, a few blind bends and ‘Mr I have all this Hay on my truck so will take up your side of the road without slowing down,’ decides to just appear. Like seriously calm the freak down lad. What’s the rush? Jeeeeeeezzzzzzzz. In a blink of a moment BRAKES, stay still, stop wobbling, throw yourself into the gravel and bushes, chuck your leg down and lean to the side… AVOID THOSE WHEELS. Phew, we made it. I honestly do not know how I managed to stay on my bike, same can be said for Lauren with poor Amanda watching in horror. Those few seconds really shook me, more than I thought as the following day going downhill or around sharp bends I was hyper aware of everything and super cautious.

44miles later, the furthest we had gone. Amazing ladies! Totally shattered the rest of the day though.

 

Sunday.

I DO NOT WANT TO GET UP. Snooze alarm…..grrrrrr…get up! You HAVE to do this.

As soon as we take off I remember I’m with hills Sarah & hills Kev. Oh man, Sunday should be a duvet day. The saddle is causing some discomfort today, my legs are burning but this soon eases. I CAN do this! Who am I kidding, here comes a hill, and another, and another. It’s up, up and up we go. Literally just up! Totally the worst hill ever. FACT! I hate this route, I hate hills, I hate everything. My legs hurt badly, they feel really heavy. I can’t do this, I’m not doing this, I need to get off. It hurts to walk. Just get back on Kelly, sort it out! Oh no I’m going to be sick. oh no I have to stop. Please don’t be sick. One of my new warning signs of my BG dropping really quickly, nausea. Like the no time to even think nausea, it’s just going to happen. OK, you’ve got this. Test bg just to check and have a few sweeties. NO WAY. I’m hypo. No wonder my legs feel really heavy and I hate everything. Stop thinking and start eating. This nausea though. Down the juice, down the juice. Keep going, all will be fine in a few minutes. Just keep cycling, ignore the blurred vision, the mammoth sweat. DO NOT BE SICK. Phew no vomit, and finally at the top of this ridiculous hill ever.

OMG. Literally how many more hills today. Look at the sunflowers. I’m back in my happy place. I love cycling. I love this route. I love everyone. I CAN do this.

Arrrggghhhhh seriously enough of the hills. This is feeling ridiculously hard. I’m sure my tyres are even screaming at me. Wait, they are. I have a puncture, my tyre is flat. A lesson in removing tyres, changing inner tube. Team work, thanks team! Let’s go…..REALLY do we need any more hills. Hang on is that a bike, that’s a head…..there’s a guy laying in the bushes! Whoah calm down fella, no time for hide and seek on these bends. Luckily he had a soft landing and all was well. A few seconds earlier would have been a different story for a few of us approaching his path!

Lets go. I’m feeling tired. I feel angry. I’ve had enough. I want to get home. I want to get off. I want to stop. CAN WE JUST GET HOME. How many more hills. I feel sick….oh no here we go again. Jelly babies are your friend, keep going. And breathe. I’m happy again. Bloody hypos!

I have just cycled two days in a row! Go me. Can I get a whoop whoop

Leave a comment